UFC 294, Johnny Walker vs Ankalaev

Well isn’t THIS special? After years of not posting (largely because I haven’t really felt I’ve had anything to say that would interest anyone) here we go again!

Tiny bit of background: for the past three years I’ve done quite a bit of doctoring at various combat sports events, sitting ringside helping to take care of the fighters (including all UFC events in Abu Dhabi since July 2020). Make no mistake about it – I am not a fan of combat sports, but for various reasons, and the odd meanders of a career, this is a position in which i often find myself (it is a very compelling gig, and one I take extremely seriously).

Last night, during UFC 294 and on the ref’s request, I assessed Johnny Walker after he was struck on the head. I recommended that he stop the fight, which of course he did.

My assessment would appear to have provoked a mini-maelstrom of opinion and comment, and I think it only fair to explain the process by which I reached my conclusion in the octagon, and to make clear that in many respects this was the only possible, only safe, and only reasonable decision based on current understanding of head injuries. I want to help clarify the sometimes agonizing position the ringside doctor is in, and the way one of them (ME) reasons when faced with this type of decision.

First, let’s paint a picture of the situation. Johnny gets a blow to the head, is clearly staggered, and I stand up from my ringside chair, knowing that Dan (the ref) would call me in to assess the fighter. I had not seen the blow (my angle was not ideal) but saw Johnny’s reaction, and as I entered the octagon I saw the expression on Johnny’s face. You need to remember I’ve spent 25 years as an ER doc and anesthesiologist, and 16 years in Formula 1, and three years ringside – plenty of time to have assessed hundreds of patients with concussion – and enough time to know that look.

I approached Johnny, and asked him some standard questions. Often the precise answer is not important – it’s more HOW the subject arrives at the answer. Long story short, Johnny was disoriented in time and in space. Telling me he was in the desert was pretty good, but not good enough. And the notion that a language barrier prevented him from answering me correctly is either adorably naieve, or willfully disingenuous. Johnny KNEW what i was asking, but just could not answer it.

Why is this important? Well guys, the definition of a concussion is, roughly, “altered brain function after a blow to the head”. This can take several forms, transient amnesia (like forgetting where you are and having to improvise an answer) being one of the most frequent. Oh and Johnny did not remember for the life of him what round it was. Pretty sure most (non-concussed) fighters always know exactly what round they’re in.

Once we’ve accepted that we’re now dealing with a concussed athlete, the rest falls into place clearly, if painfully. Now of course if the diagnosis involved the persistence of symptoms (so we’d have “altered brain function one minute, five minutes, one hour, etc, after a blow to the head”) I’d have had to take that into account. But the definition of concussion does not depend on how long after the blow to the head we are. The SEVERITY of concussion will be partly judged by the persistence of symptoms, but that’s not the question here

Current consensus, in essentially every sport that has a concussion protocol – and I mean EVERY SPORT – is to immediately remove that athlete from further competition until carefully assessed. I’ll not be pedantic but I do need to emphasize: EVERY. CONCUSSED. ATHLETE. REMOVED. IMMEDIATELY.

Note that I said “until carefully assessed”. There are several ways to “carefully assess” a concussed patient, from computer-based neurocognitive testing to vestibular (balance) -based examinations , to detainled neurological exams- but all of them require time and expertise to carry out. And remember that current best-practice is that this athlete cannot return to this event, and perhaps even upcoming events, until this is done AND ALL SYMPTOMS OF CONCUSSION HAVE RECOVERED. That’s right – the athlete needs to have recovered completely before being allowed to return to competition. If you look at the concussion management protocols in sports, you will pretty much always see that the concussed athlete will almost never be allowed to return to the game/match/event in which he or she was injured.

You see where I’m going with this, right?

Several of the officials and staff spoke to me after the decision, and while obviously not getting involved in the medical aspects of the decision, they often suggested that perhaps I should have given Johnny “some more time”. Let me throw this back – how much time? And after that time has elapsed, what am I looking for? So let’s say we decide five minutes. Great. We’re now five minutes later, and I ask Johnny what day it is. “October 21, a Saturday”. “We are at the end of the first round”. “This is Etihad Arena in glorious Abu Dhabi”. Well after you pick me up off the floor (there was no way on God’s green earth THAT was going to happen, remember I know a concussion when I see one), but even had this happened – was this enough to constitute a “complete and thorough assessment”?

The answer of course is no, not by a long stretch – but now consider the ringside doctor’s dilemma. Those three correct and elegantly phrased answers are pretty good evidence of marvelously rapid recovery. But if I’m officiating at an amateur bout, or a college football game (and these answers are given on the sidelines) I’m keeping this guy out until we do some REAL assessment. On the other hand, had those answers been offered last night by Usman, or by Alex, or by Johnny himself had the same situation occurred, I’d likely have let the fight continue. Not that I’m any less concerned (although massively reassured), but because I realize the context. The ringside doctor in high-level combat sports confronts this constantly. But always, ALWAYS, our duty to the guy in front of us outweighs anything and everything else.

And remember, this is not what happened. In fact, Johnny got a bit uncontrollable, something that fans love, but that is very rare, and that likely reflects a serious temporary deficit in impulse control. Something that, you guessed it!, is part of the concussive syndrome itself.

Just to reinforce what I’m saying, Johnny was foggy enough at his post-fight exam that he was required to be observed for some time to make sure that his recovery was well underway before clearing him back to the hotel.

You know, if Dan had called me into the ring for a cut, a bad one, to assess whether or not we could continue, my criteria for stopping the fight would have been different here, with these guys, on the main card, for this event, than if this was a college boxing match. I GET THAT. This is, after all, a form of showbiz, and stopping a fight is heavy with consequences. Again, I GET THAT. Criteria for a lot of stoppages are . . . adjustable . . . given that we’re dealing with mature consenting adults who take risks as part of their jobs. I GET THAT.

BUT NOT WITH HEAD INJURIES. Sorry, but here the criteria are absolute. I don’t care if this had been Muhammad Ali, for a world championship fight, I’d have made the same recommendation. Or your kid. You’re concussed? You’re finished for tonight. Period. Move on. That’s my job. You don’t like it? Sorry. That’s my job. You bet on the fight and lost? Sorry. None of these are my concern, none of these are my problem. My problem is Johnny Walker, his brain, his future, his wellbeing.

So there you go folks, this is pretty simple. I had a concussed fighter in front of me. One whose recovery could not be properly assessed in the timeframe necessary to allow THIS fight to continue. I owed this to Johnny. If it were your son or daughter, in another sport, any sport, I’d do the same thing. If this happened tonight, despite the opprobrium being heaped on me, I’d do the same thing. Getting a second concussion before the first has healed (and do not doubt for a moment that given his cognitive slowing Johnny was well on his way to being TKO’d – at best – or KO’d – at worst) can lead to the “second impact syndrome” where the athlete collapses, and usually dies, from massive acute brain swelling. That’s not going to happen on my watch, I promise.

Finally I want to thank Dana White for having said that my inexperience was responsible for my decision. It’s better than attacking me, for sure. I have acquaintances who have thousands of fights under their belts; I’m somewhere north of 500. But Sid Watkins and I started concussion testing – pre-season baselines and post concussion – with a computer based program, in the late 90s. THIS WAS DECADES BEFORE ANY MAJOR SPORT (except IndyCar) GAVE A DAMN ABOUT CONCUSSION. And again, my career involved caring for hundreds of “day to day” concussions. So actually not only am I not inexperienced, but in a certain way Johnny was damned lucky I was his doctor last night.

I want this to be read by a max of fight people who question the decision. Help me out in the comments as to the tags I use to make sure that they land here.

I welcome your comments – but keep it respectful, keep it fact-based, be normal. If not I’ll just can it. I won’t have massive amounts of time for a give and take, but those of you who’ve read me in the past know my commitment to furthering knowledge of head injuries of all types.

Well that was fun, it’s nice to be back!

43 thoughts on “UFC 294, Johnny Walker vs Ankalaev

    • Won’t be there – I only work UFC here in Abu Dhabi . . . and after 294 I’d pretty much bet that they’re going to tell the organizers that they don’t want me officiating. Dana White is a clever entrepreneur, has built up an incredible show, and has doctors to keep an eye on his fighters – just like i did, and would do again tonight in the same situation. I can only hope that an experienced neurologist has gone over Johnny and concluded there are ZERO concussive symptoms remaining. Oh and even if Johnny is fully recovered, he’s tallied one (more) concussion towards CTE. But Don, I so appreciate the kind words and the thoughts behind them.

  1. I was trying to find if Walker lost half his purse for that night and came across your post. Thank you for posting this and giving an indepth analysis on the why’s and how’s of what happened that night. As a doctor it is your duty to care for that patient, and having heard your side you 100% made the correct decision, thank you. There’s actually a video of him where he gets knocked out 4 times in 20 seconds! I don’t know if it’s true unconsciousness, but it looks bad. Of course emotions are high, there’s a lot of testosterone in that ring and I can understand Johnny wanting to continue. Anyways, thanks for the explanation. It really helps. I wish the judges had to do this after a fight lol.

  2. Missed reading your words Doc, lovely to see you in my email notifications this morning.

    Cool, professional heads are needed ringside, regardless of fans, promoters etc and their opinions. The ‘patient’ and their wellbeing must take precedence.

    Hope to read more from you.

    • Thanks for the support and kind words Martine! I’ll post for sure . . . when I have something that I think is worth taking moments of my readers’ precious time with. There’s a certain presumptuousness in posting, with the implication that what I have to say is important enough to be said and that weighs heavily on me .

  3. Dear Gary:

    Well put sir! It is only now, that we are seeing the cumulative effects of concussive events, in long term atheltes, such as Pro Football players and retired NASCAR drivers, that people are starting to listen and pay attention. For people like Lomachek ( above) HERE IS A MESSAGE…You are an idiot! Victor Henry or some other fighter will be lucky to still be able to remember their name in a few years, thanks to the prompt and careful work of people like Dr. Hartstein.

  4. Dear Doc.

    What a surprise it was to see your message pop up in my inbox. Glad to see you are still passing gas, but it seems you have escaped the wrath of Jean Todt his minions for a more rowdy crowd. Please be careful.
    Obviously those critical of your decisions have no idea of the responsibilities you have selflessly undertaken for the betterment and continued health of those who would provide them the entertainment they crave.
    There is no person in the world I would rather see looking down at me after a blow to my head than you.
    Thanks for writing and don’t wait so long for a follow up.

    Regards,

    Jan Burden

    Sent from my iPad

  5. It is sooo good to hear your thoughts again. I didn’t watch that fight, but saw a little of the Volk (I’m an Aussie) fight, and I think I saw a quick shot of you in the background.
    MMA is brutal and it is clearly a very fine line to do your duty as providing the best level of care to the well being of the combatants, vs the desires of the promoters. I don’t envy you being in this position, and love to see your thoughts like this.
    Very poor form for Dana White to be publically criticising you.
    Keep up the good work

    • It is brutal, I think some combination of the adrenaline of being there, the concentration to be effective, and the responsibility to get it right when needed keeps me coming back. I don’t think Dana Whites’s comments were criticism. He can be absolutely brutal about the doctors covering events and this was mild and more excusatory than anything.

  6. Great to read your thoughts once again – missed your insights over the past couple of years.
    With your particular expertise in this area, these athletes are incredibly lucky to have you advocating in their healths best interest.

    • Thanks so much Orla. I actually remember the first time Sid and I started discussing concussions – this was probably1993 or so, when I was just a local doctor at Spa riding with the Prof. We kept at it, and once I officially joined, and in conjunction with Steve Olvey and Terry Trammell in the USA we pushed ahead. I am SO proud of what we did and when we did it!

  7. Great to see that you are still ‘alive and well’ enjoying life, after your years away from the F1 circus, would be good to read your views on the current state of play, Red Bull dominance, Max as a driver, Lewis’s demeanor now that he’s not winning, Danny Ric’s hand injury, etc all the best 👍

    • Hi Pete, and thanks! I think Max is absolutely staggeringly brilliant. I love Lewis, always have and always will. I’m absurdly out of touch with the sport so don’t really have too much of interest to say!

  8. Really miss you in motorsport Gary! Those who criticised you clearly don’t know your wealth of experience and pioneering work!

  9. I work at a UK motor racing circuit and regularly see concussed riders, and your description is spot on. There’s a feeling that this is someone trying to remember how to be a person, any person, possibly themselves but if not just a convincing facsimile. The immediacy of it helps, too. I imagine speaking to a rider as they regain consciousness, or within seconds of it, is so much more helpful to the patient’s recovery than if someone self-reports lingering symptoms days after the initial trauma. It’s a privelage to be able to give that care as it’s unfolding in front of you.

    It’s good to read your voice again, look after yourself.

  10. What a pleasant surprise!!

    I was missing your comments on F1, and today, as a gift, a new message from f1Doc!! I am not really interested in combat sports (as a matter of fact I think that a “sport” whose aim is to knock out the adversary should be banned) I was glad to read your analysis, and to see you on the (writing) saddle again.

    I hope you will someday to give to us your opinion about the current F1, it’s safety measures centered on avoiding pilots to be wounded on an accident, and not giving a shit about psychological wellness (what used to be a two hours of race, now is a full weekend with several races, tire regulations that makes a full 60 lap race to become 3 classificatory races, two or more classification, mandatory meetings with the Press, TV cameras everywhere (Anyday we’ll have a “loo view”).

    It would be interesting to know your professional opinion if the Qatar race should have been stopped when Lance Stroll abandoned before “passing out”, and Alonso asked to empty a bucket of water over him at the next pit stop. I agree that F1 is (and has always been) a circus, but it seems that now is a three ring circus. Welcome back Gary

    carlos

  11. Dr. Hartstein,

    What a pleasant surprise to receive your email this morning.

    Your knowledge, experience and conviction ruled. All involved should be grateful and humble.

    Great to have you back don’t be a stranger!

    Bob G Smith

  12. If I was in that position (Johnny Walker), I would absolutely want you ringside to take care of me and the other sportsmen.

    Thankfully you are extremely professional, caring through and through, and will not be forced to change your decision due to outside pressure.

    It’s great to see you back here writing again.

  13. I found the following two facts from Dana White’s Wikipedia page that make me think he should be perhaps a little more sensitive to this situation than it seems he was:

    « White initially intended to become a professional boxer himself, but was put off by the idea after seeing a punch drunk boxer and worrying that he would suffer the same neurodegeneration.[14] White then worked as a boxercise coach.[15] ».

    « In May 2012, White revealed that he had been diagnosed with Ménière’s disease, an inner ear disorder.[58] He said, “It’s like vertigo but on steroids.”[59] White claims that the disease was brought on because of a large fight he was involved in during his youth.[60] »

    PS, by the way, Gary, synchronicity: just last night I was re-reading the article you did for my pages in 2008 about the FIA track doctor work at F1 races. (I’m writing something and was doing some research about the (few) other people who contributed to those IHT pages.

    • Hi Brad! What a joy to see your words! I’ll message through alternate routes to get back in touch. Again, I don’t know Dana White but he himself is a brand and he needs to protect that brand. He was not personal about it, was not insulting, and I’m fine with it. I’m also more than fine with my decision and part of being a doctor is taking responsibility. Also I can SO understand how cool it would have been had the Arena erupted with an Ankalaev victory.

  14. Insightful as ever, Gary.
    Johnny Walker etc are lucky to have you protecting them from the likes of Dana White.
    (Your posts are valuable precisely because you only post when there’s a serious issue to be confronted)

    • I don’t know Dana White at all but he loves the sport he created, has done an extraordinary job of looking after it and his athletes. Our perspectives are different, he did not attack me at all, and i think the tension between the doctors and the admin of the sport are natural and healthy.

  15. If I were an elite sportsman, not some aged, overweight observer, I would want your clear reasonably thought decisions “in my corner” Well done! Nice to see you back.

Your turn to speak - write here