Round 2 of Get Gary! (Jean’s after me again)

I guess I must have again touched a raw nerve at Place de la Concorde. After trying to get me fired with an FIA-funded trip to my former employer, I have just received the following letter from the “lawyer for the FIA”:

Letter to Gary Hartstein 24 08 2015

For information, I have responded:

Email response to FIA lawyer

Over the past year or so, lots of very influential journalists have been highly critical of the FIA’s current administration, without eliciting anything near these kinds of attempts at intimidation. I suppose it’s clear that not only does this speak to the kind of people we’re dealing with, but more importantly indicates just how nervous I make them. And I needn’t point out the proximate cause of their worry, as it’s mentioned specifically in Mr. Martel’s letter.

I was, and am, sickened by the tragedy that has befallen Jules Bianchi and his family. My only motivation is, and has been, to highlight how far we’ve strayed from the path so brilliantly plotted by Sid Watkins, Max Mosley, and all the others who worked so hard to make, and keep, this sport safe.

Once again, I can only wonder who authorised the use of FIA funds for such an adventure, and whether or not the various internal structures tasked with determining FIA policy were consulted about this.

Let’s be clear:

  • this will play out VERY publicly
  • if necessary, I will crowdsource my defence, relying on the thousands of fans of our sport to help me defend myself against those whose major objective would appear to be not the safety and wellbeing of the participants in motorsport, but rather their own safety and wellbeing.

Thanks for your time and attention. As they say in French . . . à suivre.

82 thoughts on “Round 2 of Get Gary! (Jean’s after me again)

  1. Hi Doc, Not that I can really comment about why you changed your job and moved to the middle east but it looks a little like the FIA got their way? You I imagine are busy with your job and your new life and I sincerely wish you all the best in what you do. I do however miss your posts. Neil

    • Hey Neil! Thanks for writing. I moved to the Emirates for the weather, the money, the change. But it’s true that in a certain way todt and his fellow thugs did get their way. I still love the sport, and will still write when I feel I need to, but it’s true that theses guys wore me down. Maybe there’ll be a flurry of activity if Jules’ dad does take the FIA to court (not sure I interpreted his statement correctly though), but I’ve got better outlets for my energy than that detestable person and his equally detestable cronies.

      • Hi again! Thank you so much for your reply. I lament the day Ari Vatanen failed to get the job to run the FIA. F1 and how it is run now frankly depresses me. When someone asks me, do I like F1, I say… of course, I’m a petrolhead! But feel I have to follow that up with my thoughts on how it also annoys me with it’s mismanagement and corruption, with how little it cares about the fans that go to Grand Prix and even now the fans that would watch it on TV. I hope you find the time to write here as much as you can. About whatever you choose. Your views and perspective I find highly engaging. I’d ask you to write a book, (I have a signed copy of Sid’s book which is brilliant and now sits in pride of place on my bookshelf) I’d love to read something from you but I guess that one is for when you hang up your stethoscope! Enjoy the sunshine and enjoy your life. I’m sure there are many people walking around this small lump of rock in space that have you to thank for being also able to enjoy life.

      • Thanks again Neil. I’ll continue to write of course, and might at some point consider that book. Given how much stuff there is to read out there, on so many platforms, I constantly weigh whether what I want to say will contribute anything to the din. For the moment, work and life are keeping me busy enough!

Your turn to speak - write here

